Traffic Light Assessment Method in #PhysEd

Traffic Light Sample Pic

I was recently asked the question… How do I show/measure student growth in Phys Ed? Many schools have targets these days around the concept of student growth and a common goal that is shared is that “all students will experience more than one year of growth”.

This got me thinking. How do I measure growth in Phys Ed?

Whilst I do feel that I have some pretty sound assessment methods, my tracking of student “growth” has probably been less than desirable in the past. When it comes to assessing which progression point each student has achieved, I used to make a judgement based on a “gut feel” derived from all other assessments completed throughout the year (Fitness testing, Game Sense & Skills assessment). Whilst I feel that this method was probably an accurate one, I came unstuck when challenged to show where the students had come from and where they are now.

I have recently developed a progress based assessment checklist based on the Victorian Essential Learning Standards in PE. I call it a “Traffic Light” Assessment model. The idea is that learning outcomes are colour coded… Red = ‘Below’ the expected standard, Amber = ‘At’ the expected standard and Green = ‘Above’ the expected standard. Whilst it is based on the Victorian standards, the concept can be applied to the standards from any state or country.

Using this method I can now confidently show where each student is at in relation to the learning outcomes set down in our curriculum. I can also track their progress over time and more importantly use the model to help set individual goals with students.

Here is an excel version of the Traffic Light Assessment I created…

Traffic_Light_Assessment_NO_Names

I still use all my other assessment methods which are still valuable, but they also help inform my judgement of the traffic light model.

Here is a sample of my other assessment checklists/rubrics…

2014_Assessment_Checklists_Semester_1_NONAMES

2014_Assessment_Checklists_Semester_2_NONAMES

As with everything I do. It is still a work in progress and it changes every year as I strive to find the most effective methods of assessment.

Leave a Reply

